Tuesday, May 31, 2016

Backing Up and Restoring Moodle Courses (with NEW instructor features!)

Instructors using Moodle invariably need to move material from one place to another. In the past, instructors have had the ability to import files from one course site to another, and we now have a few new features available to you as well. Each of these features is described below, with a link to the documentation for using the feature. You can also check out this overview to understand the best way to move things between your course sites.

The first of these is the ability to create backup files. In the Administration menu in your course site, one of the options, Backup, leads to menus that will guide you through creating a single backup file that compresses the entire contents of your course -- layout, settings, most user data, and files -- into a single archive file. (It's similar to a .zip file, if you have ever used .zip files.)

The second is the ability to restore a course from a backup file. In the Administration menu in your course site, the option Restore leads to menus where you can choose where to unpack a backup, like moving your belongings to a new house and then setting them up. Use caution when choosing where to restore! We recommend using a site you know is empty, because otherwise you could overwrite existing information. If you are at all unsure, please contact your LITS Liaison.

And finally, if you'd like to grab a quick copy of all the files that have been uploaded by you or other instructors in your course, click on Download Instructor Files in the Administration menu.  This does not capture any settings, layout, or any files uploaded by your students! But if you want a quick download of your readings and other uploads, in a .zip file, this is the way to go.

And as always, if you aren't sure which of these features to use, please don't hesitate to contact us.

No comments:

Post a Comment